Site icon Borok Times

Biplab Kumar Deb took oath as Rajya Sabha MP

On Monday, September 28, Former chief minister of Tripura and senior BJP leader Biplab Deb, took oath as member of the Rajya Sabha, after grabbing the lone seat of Rajya Sabha in Recently held elections. 

Biplab Deb wrote on his twitter handle, “Took oath as Rajya Sabha MP from Tripura today in presence of Rajya Sabha Chairman & Hon’ble Vice President Shri  @jdhankhar1 ji. I will be serving as the voice of the people of Tripura in upper house.”

He further tweeted, “With the blessings of Mata Tripurasundari, honoured to take oath as a Member of Parliament of Rajya Sabha. Gratitude to PM Shri @narendramodi Ji, BJP President Shri @JPNadda Ji, HM Shri @AmitShah Ji & senior leadership for giving the opportunity to represent my State.”

Biplab Kumar Deb won the lone Rajya Sabha seat against opposition Left Front candidate, Former Finance Minister and MLA, Bhanulal Saha.
The election for the lone seat held on 22 of September, former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb won the election for the lone state Rajya Sabha seat which had fallen vacant after the then MP Dr Manik Saha took oath as Chief Minister on May 15.

Voting for by-election of the lone Rajya Sabha seat of Tripura commenced on September 22, 9 AM in the lobby of the Tripura Legislative Assembly.

Also Read: Former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb Grabbed Rajya Sabha Lone Seat with 43 Votes

Exit mobile version