Site icon Borok Times

Four Candidates Vie for Outer Manipur LS Seat Reserved for STs

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has given the nod to four candidates to contest for the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency elections, scheduled to be held in two phases on April 19 and April 29.

The Outer Manipur constituency, reserved for scheduled tribes, will witness a battle among four candidates, pending any withdrawals before the deadline on March 30.

The nomination papers of the four contenders, comprising two from political parties and an equal number running independently, underwent scrutiny at the office of the Returning Officer of the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency situated at Thoubal district headquarters.

Among the approved candidates, Kachui Timothy Zimik, a retired principal chief commissioner of Income Tax from the Ministry of Finance (Revenue), will represent the Naga People’s Front, a prominent regional political entity in Manipur and Nagaland.

Alfred Kan-Ngam Arthur, a former MLA of the Ukhrul assembly constituency, secured the green signal from the ECI to contest as a Congress candidate.

Additionally, two independent candidates have been cleared to participate in the electoral fray. Dr. Alyson Abonmai, representing the Zeliangrong Naga community, and Kho John, former president of the United Naga Council hailing from the Poumai Naga community, are set to vie for the seat.

The polling for the two Parliamentary seats in Manipur is scheduled for April 19 and April 26, with the Inner seat going to polls solely on April 19 and the Outer seat slated for voting on both April 19 and April 26.

Exit mobile version