Site icon Borok Times

Tipra Motha Party Led by Bubagra Pradyut Kishore Manikya Debbarma Poised to be the Kingmaker in Tripura Assembly Election 2023

As the Tripura Assembly Election 2023 draws closer, all eyes are on the Tipra Motha Party (TMP), led by Bubagra Pradyut Kishore Manikya Debbarma. The party, which was formed in 2020, has emerged as a significant player in Tripura politics and is poised to be the kingmaker in the election.

The TMP has been campaigning on issues that are of critical importance to the indigenous communities of Tripura, such as land rights, jobs, and education. The party has also been critical of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) policies, which it claims have been detrimental to the interests of the indigenous people. The party has allied with the Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura (INPT) and is expected to win a majority of the Scheduled Tribe (ST) seats in the state.

Political analysts believe that the TMP’s performance in the ST seats will be a game-changer in the government formation process. In the 2018 assembly elections, the BJP won seven out of the 20 ST seats, while the Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)] won 12 seats. However, the entry of the TMP has changed the political equation in the state, and the party is expected to win a majority of the ST seats this time.

The TMP’s rise to prominence can be attributed to Bubagra Pradyut Kishore Manikya Debbarma’s leadership, who is a scion of the royal family of Tripura. Debbarma, who was previously associated with the Congress, has been able to galvanize the indigenous communities of the state under the banner of the TMP. He has been campaigning extensively in the ST seats, highlighting the issues faced by the indigenous people and promising to address them if elected to power.

As the election results draw near, the TMP and its allies are hoping to emerge as the kingmaker in the government formation process. The party has not revealed which side it would support in case of a hung assembly. However, it is widely believed that the party would side with whoever is willing to address their demands and concerns.

The Tripura Assembly Election 2023 is set to be a closely contested affair, with several parties vying for power. However, the rise of the TMP and Bubagra Pradyut Kishore Manikya Debbarma’s leadership has added a new dimension to the election, and their performance in the ST seats is likely to be crucial in determining the government’s formation in the state.

Exit mobile version