Site icon Borok Times

Tripura Polls: BJP To Compete In 55 Seats



BJP or the Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party has finalised the seat-sharing deal with old ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura for the February 16 assembly election. They gave the junior partner in the coalition five constituencies, four less than what it got in the 2018 polls.

Announcing this in Agartala on Saturday, Chief Minister Manik Saha said that the BJP will contest in 55 constituencies in its bid to return to power in the northeastern state which has a 60-member assembly for the second time in a row.

In New Delhi, the BJP released, in two instalments, the names of 54 candidates, leaving out the prestigious Agartala constituency which is being held by the sole Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman, who won the seat in a by-poll a few months after quitting the saffron party.

The party fielded 11 women including Union Minister Pratima Bhoumik and dropped four MLAs.

“Today (Saturday) we have finalised the seat-sharing deal with our old ally IPFT for the next month’s Assembly elections and gave it five seats. We vowed to fight the elections on the basis of the Common Minimum Programme (CMP) for all-round development of the indigenous people,” Saha said.

The saffron party contested the 2018 assembly election together with the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura and the alliance partners fielded candidates in 51 and 9 seats respectively. The BJP-IPFT combine swept to power in the state replacing the 25-year-old Left Front regime winning 44 seats in the 60-member assembly.

The BJP bagged 36 seats and the IPFT eight. The Communist Party of India-Marxist, which is the major party of the Left Front, is contesting the state elections in alliance with the Congress this time. “Today’s deal is the testimony of the BJP’s tradition of not betraying its allies irrespective of their strength,” Saha said.

Senior IPFT leader Sukla Charan Noatia, who was present at the press meet, said the party will contest in the five seats in association with the BJP. Party president Prem Kumar Reang has approved the decision of seat sharing, he said.

Exit mobile version