Biplab Kumar Deb Declared BJP’s RS Nominee From Tripura


The BJP has named former Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb as its candidate for the Rajya Sabha by-poll in the state. Deb will contest from the seat vacated by Manik Saha who replaced him as the chief minister in the run-up to the assembly polls in the state early next year. The by-poll is due on September 22 and Deb’s win is all but certain as the BJP has a majority in the assembly.

Hours after being declared BJP party in-charge for Haryana, former Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb was named as the party’s candidate for the upcoming Rajya Sabha bypoll in the northeastern state.

The BJP’s decision to name the 50-year-old as its Rajya Sabha candidate underscores its efforts to keep him in good humor after removing him as the chief minister.

Before the Rajya Sabha nomination, on Friday, in a notification issued by BJP’s national general secretary and office in-charge Arun Singh, state in-charges and co-in-charges were announced. The list placed Deb as party in-charge for Haryana.

Lok Sabha MP Dr Mahesh Sharma from Uttar Pradesh was made the in-charge for Tripura, replacing Vinod Sonkar as the party’s state in-charge.