Assam: Dibrugarh University Marks 22nd Convocation with 10,765 Graduates


Dibrugarh University in Assam recently hosted its 22nd convocation ceremony, a monumental event commemorating the academic accomplishments of 10,765 graduating students, including 87 Ph.D. recipients.

Remarkable Achievements Recognized

Dibrugarh University celebrated its 22nd Convocation on Sunday, a momentous event for 10,765 graduating students, including 87 Ph.D. recipients. The ceremony honored 37 outstanding students with gold medals, recognizing their achievements across various disciplines.

Assam Governor and Dibrugarh University Chancellor, Gulab Chand Kataria, presided over the convocation. In his address, he emphasized the importance of inter-disciplinary education, aligning with the principles of the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020. He urged the university to design curriculums fostering this approach to prepare students for a dynamic and interconnected world.

Governor Kataria commended the university for receiving a substantial grant of ₹100 crore and stressed effective utilization to propel Dibrugarh University among the leading institutions in India. He underlined the vital role of universities in promoting Indian Knowledge Systems and advocated for their prioritization in academic discourse.

Expressing gratitude to the central government, Vice Chancellor Prof. Jiten Hazarika thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi for awarding the university a ₹100 crore Multidisciplinary Education and Research University (MERU) grant under the PM-USHA Scheme. He also acknowledged the state government for granting an additional ₹100 crore, supporting academic and infrastructure development during the crucial phase of NEP 2020 implementation.

Chief Guest Prof. Sudhir Kumar Barai, Director of Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS), Pilani, emphasized holistic student development, highlighting the interconnectedness of physical, mental, and emotional well-being.

The convocation also saw the conferment of prestigious honorary degrees: D. Sc Honoris Causa upon Kshiradhar Barua and D. Litt Honoris Causa upon Imran Shah.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here