BJP Announces First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha, 11 from Assam


In a highly anticipated move, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has revealed its initial list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, featuring 11 contenders from Assam.

Candidates Unveiled

Following extensive deliberations and meetings, the BJP disclosed the names of candidates who will vie for various constituencies in Assam. The list includes the following nominees:

  1. Guwahati – Bijuli Kalita Medhi
  2. Karimganj – Kripanath Malla
  3. Udalguri – Dilip Saikia
  4. Sonitpur – Ranjit Dutta
  5. Nagaon – Suresh Bora
  6. Kaziranga – Kamakhya Prasad Tasa
  7. Jorhat – Tapan Gogoi
  8. Dibrugarh – Sarbananda Sonowal
  9. Lakhimpur – Pradan Baruah
  10. Diphu – Amarsing Tisso
  11. Silchar – Praimal Suklabaidya

Significant Changes

The announcement brings about notable changes, with a few incumbent MPs being replaced. Notably, Suresh Bora, a recent defector from the Congress to the BJP, secures a party ticket, marking his entry into the electoral fray under the BJP banner.

In a significant development, the incumbent MP from Guwahati Lok Sabha, Queen Ojha, has been replaced by Bijuli Kalita Medhi as the BJP’s candidate for the constituency.

These nominations set the stage for a dynamic electoral landscape in Assam, with the BJP strategizing and reshaping its lineup for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here