Peace Pact Signed With Tribal Militant Groups Of Assam


The Centre and Assam Government signed a tripartite peace agreement with eight Adivasi formations from Assam in New Delhi, 10 years after the peace process began.

The peace agreements with the Adivasi militant groups in Assam were signed in presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

The eight rebel groups are Birsa Commando Force (BCF), Adivasi People’s Army (APA), All Adivasi National Liberation Army (AANLA), Adivasi Cobra Military of Assam (ACMA), and Santhali Tiger Force (STF) and the remaining three outfits are splinter groups of BCF, AANLA, and ACMA.

The groups are in a ceasefire since 2012 and living in designated camps.

 “I am sure signing of the agreement will usher in a new era of peace & harmony in Assam,” Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said.

On January 27 of that year, a total of 246 insurgents from two state militant groups laid down their weapons and returned to the mainstream.

In August, members of the Kuki Tribal Union laid down their weapons.

Speaking on the occasion, union home minister Amit Shah said that the signing of the peace pacts with the Adivasi militant groups of Assam is a “historic moment” for the state and the Northeast state as a whole.

Union home minister Amit Shah further said that the BJP-led central government has been striving to resolve all pending issues in Assam and the Northeast by 2024.

“This is an important day for Assam and the Northeast. Many initiatives have been taken by the Modi government to develop the Northeast region,” union home minister Amit Shah said.

“Around 1100 persons of Adivasi militant outfits of Assam are surrendering arms and joining the mainstream today,” Amit Shah said.

Amit Shah also ensured that all the clauses included in the peace pacts will be implemented.

“We want Assam and the Northeast region should be drug-free, terrorism-free, dispute-free, and fully developed. Modi government is working towards this,” added union home minister Amit Shah.