Shock to Congress in Tripura, Six Leaders Including Former State President Join TMC


The Congress party has suffered a major setback ahead of next year’s assembly elections in Tripura. Six Congress leaders joined the Trinamool Congress (TMC). Former Tripura Congress President Piyush Kanti Biswas is also among those who joined TMC.

Apart from this, Tripura Congress leaders Tejen Das, Anant Banerjee, Bimal Rudra Paul, Purnita Chakma and Samarendra Ghosh have also joined TMC. According to information, these leaders joined TMC in the presence of TMC chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and party’s national general secretary Abhishek Banerjee.

It is believed that Piyush Kanti Biswas can be made the new President of Tripura TMC. Assembly elections in Tripura are expected to be held in early 2023. The current term of the Tripura Legislative Assembly ends on March 22, 2023.