Ahead of Meghalaya Assembly Elections, Four MLAs Join BJP


Ahead of the assembly elections in the Northeast state of Meghalaya, as many as four MLAs from the state joined the BJP.

The joining of the four MLAs from Meghalaya was a boost for the BJP, which is looking to expand its presence in the Northeast.

Of the four MLAs, two came from the NPP of Meghalaya, one from the TMC, and the other from an independent legislator.

The four Meghalaya MLAs to join the BJP are Benedic Marak and Ferlin Sangma from the NPP, Samuel M Sangma (independent), and Himalaya Muktan Shangpliang (TMC).

The four Meghalaya MLAs joined the BJP on Wednesday in New Delhi in the presence of Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is also the convenor of Northeast Democratic Alliance (NEDA), has termed the joining of the Meghalaya MLAs to BJP as a “new beginning” for the saffron party in the state.

The four Meghalaya MLAs later also met BJP national president JP Nadda.

The BJP won two seats out of a total of 60 at the Meghalaya assembly during the 2018 elections.