AICC Announces 7 Committees For Tripura Assembly election: Congress leader


With the Tripura Assembly elections scheduled for early next year, the India Congress Committee (AICC) announced Wednesday the establishment of seven committees including the Pradesh Election Committee (PEC) for the state, a senior party leader said.

Tripura Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) president Birajit Sinha has been made the chairman of the 10-member election committee while AICC general secretary Ajay Kumar, who is also the in-charge of Tripura, AICC secretary Szarita Laitphlang, MLA Sudip Roy Barman and former TPCC president Gopal Chandra Roy are also members of the committee.

A 16-member political affairs committee was also declared with the former chairman of the TPCC, Gopal Chandra Roy. The party’s sole MLA (Sudip Roy Barman) was appointed to head the TPCC campaign and publicity committee whilst the seven-member manifesto committee will be led by veteran party leader Shanti Rajan Debnath, he said.

Besides, the AICC also declared presidents for the party’s nine organizational districts.

Responding to the announcement of committees ahead of the election, former TPCC president Gopal Chandra Roy thanked the AICC for making him the head of the political affairs committee.

“The AICC has instructed all the TPCC leaders right from booth to Pradesh congress committee level to work together to bring down the BJP government from power in the 2023 Assembly elections”, he said.

The Congress, once a powerful political force in the Northeast State, was defeated in the 2018 Assembly elections when it won less than 2% of the vote. At present, the Congress has one legislator in the 60-member Tripura Assembly.