Assam BJP Expels 15 Leaders Contesting Independently in DHAC Polls


In a decisive move, the Assam BJP has expelled 15 leaders from Dima Hasao district who declared their intent to contest independently in the upcoming Dima Hasao Autonomous Council (DHAC) elections. The expulsion order was issued by Bhabesh Kalita, the president of the Assam unit of the party.

The Expelled BJP Leaders

The list of expelled leaders comprises Lalremthiem Tuolor, Rahul Naiding, Silvias Lalrotlounga Khozol, Paunamsaulakbe Newme, Pauramduing Jeme, Pronen Haflongbar, Punush Nunisa, Bimal Hojai, Hemanta Kemprai, Joysing Durong, Dormen Enghi, Ramgalungbe Jeme, Lalropui Hmar, Saivongril Hrangkhol, and Joydesh Phong.

DHAC Election Schedule

The DHAC elections in Dima Hasao district are scheduled for January 8, with the vote counting set to take place on January 12. Voters will cast their ballots in 280 polling stations across the district from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. on the election day.

Eligible Voters and Demographics

A total of 1,41,124 eligible voters, comprising 70,485 males and 70,639 females, are expected to exercise their franchise in the NCHAC elections in Assam. These elections play a crucial role in determining the representation and leadership of the North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council (NCHAC), also known as Dima Hasao Autonomous Council.

The NCHAC, formed under the Sixth Schedule of the Indian Constitution, administers the Dima Hasao district and focuses on the development of the hill people in the region. Its headquarters is located in Haflong, Dima Hasao district.

NCHAC Structure and Leadership

The council consists of 30 members, with 28 elected through the first-past-the-post system and 2 nominated by the Assam government. Currently, the chief executive member (CEM) leading the NCHAC is Debolal Gorlosa.

Constituencies Under Dima Hasao Autonomous Council

The DHAC encompasses various constituencies, each contributing to the representation and governance of the autonomous council. Some of the key constituencies include Haflong, Jatinga, Borail, Mahur, Jinam, and others.

As the DHAC elections approach, the expulsion of the 15 BJP leaders adds a layer of intrigue to the political landscape. The outcomes will not only shape the representation in the autonomous council but also influence the broader political dynamics in the region.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here