BJP Appointed Dr. Mahendra Singh as the Election In-Charge of Tripura


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday appointed Mahendra Singh as the election in-charge of Tripura. Mahendra Singh is a former minister in the Yogi government of Uttar Pradesh.

The party said in a tweet, “For the upcoming assembly elections in Tripura, BJP National President JP Nadda has appointed Dr. Mahendra Singh as the election in-charge of the party. Apart from this, Rajya Sabha MP and BJP ST Morcha in-charge Sameer Oraon has been made co-in-charge.

Former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Deb has welcomed the party’s decision. Deb was recently elected as a Rajya Sabha MP. He tweeted and expressed confidence of registering a massive victory in the state.

Deb said, together we will again form the BJP government by registering a massive victory in the state. The double engine government of BJP under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi has done historic work to take Tripura forward in terms of development.

BJP’s national spokesperson and party’s national coordinator for North Eastern states Sambit Patra congratulated Dr. Mahendra Singh and Sameer Oraon. Recently, an MLA of BJP’s ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) has given a big blow to the BJP by resigning. He has submitted his resignation to Assembly Speaker Ratan Chakraborty a few days back. Assembly elections in Tripura are likely to be held in the first quarter of 2023.

In 2018, BJP came to power in Tripura along with its ally AAPFT. This ended the 25 years of Left rule in this northeastern state. In 2018, out of 60 assembly seats, the BJP was successful in getting a majority in 36, while its ally IPFT got 8 seats. After the recent resignations, the IPFT has some six MLAs.

On the other hand, BJP is facing new challenges as Mamata Banerjee-led TMC and Tripura’s regional party Tipra Motha are likely to contest the assembly elections on 35 seats.