BJP Names Papia Datta as Candidate for Agartala Seat

Papia Datta

Preparations for the Tripura Assembly Elections to be held on February 16 are going on in full swing. BJP has geared up to prepare for the elections.

BJP Papia Datta
Papia Datta

For the elections to be held on 60 seats in Tripura, BJP and Congress have released their first list and announced the candidates. BJP has given ticket to Papia Datta as the candidate for Tripura’s capital Agartala today i.e. on Sunday. Bhartiya Janata Party issued this information by issuing a press release. Papia from BJP and Sudip Roy Barman of Congress will be face to face in Agartala constituency.

BJP has so far announced its candidates for 55 out of 60 seats. The names of 48 candidates appeared in the first list of BJP. Manik Saha will contest from Bordovali seat. Jishnu Dev Varma will contest from Charilam constituency, MP and Pratima Bhoumik will contest from Dhanpur seat. Among the 48 candidates included in the first list of BJP, 11 are women.

At the same time, the Congress party has announced the names of candidates for 17 out of 60 seats. Birajit Sinha, has been given a second chance on the same seat, while Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl, will contest from Karmachara. Whereas, Gopal Chandra Roy has been fielded from Banamalipur constituency. Of the 17 candidates included in the first list of Congress, 2 are women.

The Election Commission had announced the assembly election schedule of these three states on January 18. Tripura will vote on February 16, while Meghalaya and Nagaland will vote on February 27. The assembly election results of all the three states will be announced simultaneously on March 2. One similarity in the Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland assembly elections is that the majority mark in all the three states is 31.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here