Commonwealth Gold Medalist Nayanmoni Saikia to Serve as DSP


Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Saturday handed over the appointment letter and a check of Rs 50 lakh to Commonwealth Games gold medalist Nayanmoni Saikia as Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP). . The Assam government has decided to provide first-class government jobs to the winners of Olympic, Commonwealth, and Asian Games.

The Assam government in a cabinet meeting in 2021 had decided to give third class jobs to winners of national games and second class government jobs to recognized world championship medalists.

Appreciation of sports policy of Assam government

Speaking to news agency ANI after receiving the appointment letter from the Chief Minister, Saikia, who won the gold medal by defeating South Africa in the final of the Women’s Force event at Lan Bals, lauded the sports policy of the Assam government and said that Will try to keep up the good performance.

“Will try to keep playing well”.
She said, ‘I feel happy. Assam government has made a good sports policy. I hope the new generation will be attracted towards sports. We will try to keep playing well.

Chief Minister tweeted information
Meanwhile, the Chief Minister tweeted, “Glad to participate in the Sports Pension Day celebrations organized to honor the achievements of Arjun Bhogeshwar Barua. Provided one-time assistance of Rs 50,000 to four eminent sportspersons, while four others will get a regular sports pension of Rs 10,000 every month.

He further said, “Bir Chillarai Awards were also given to four NCC cadets for their outstanding performance, which included an amount of Rs 25,000. Besides this, Nayanmoni Saikia, who recently won gold in Commonwealth Games, has been given Rs 50 lakh and has been appointed as DSP.

India beat South Africa 17-10 in the final
The Indian lawn ball team created history by winning their maiden medal in the sport, defeating South Africa in the final of the Women’s Force event at the Commonwealth Games 2022 held in Birmingham on 2 August. In this historic match, India was represented by Roopa Rani Tirkey, Nayanmoni Saikia, Lovely Choubey, and Pinky Singh. India won the match 17-10.