Former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb Grabbed Rajya Sabha Lone Seat with 43 Votes


Former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb won the Rajya Sabha seat. Biplab Kumar Deb was elected to Rajya Sabha with 43 votes out of 58. Voting for the by-election took place today. He tweeted that thanks to the BJP and IPFT MLAs of Tripura for electing me as a Rajya Sabha MP! Significantly, this Rajya Sabha seat of Tripura was vacant after Manik Saha became the Chief Minister. The by-election was held on 22 September. BJP is in majority in the assembly. In such a situation, the victory of Biplab was almost certain.

Earlier, after filing his nomination papers, Deb had told reporters that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the party’s top leadership made me the BJP in-charge for Haryana and nominated me for the by-election to the Rajya Sabha seat from Tripura. I will try my best to strengthen the organization of the party in both the states.

Also Read: By-Election For Lone Rajya Sabha Seat Starts

He had called upon BJP leaders and workers to fight unitedly for the 2023 assembly elections in the northeastern state. Deb had said that the BJP had won 36 seats in the 60-member assembly in 2018 and we should ensure that the party’s strength in the House increases next year. The BJP leader had lauded the Manik Saha-led state government for its performance in “fulfilling the aspirations of the people”.

The Rajya Sabha seat where Deb contested the by-poll was vacated by the resignation of Saha, who has been made the chief minister in his place. The BJP and its allies IPFT have 44 MLAs in the House, while the Left Front has 15 and the Congress one.