Former CM Biplab Kumar Deb Filed Nomination for Tripura RS Bypoll

Tripura elections
Tripura elections

Former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb on Monday filed his nomination as the BJP candidate for the September 22 by-election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat in the northeastern state. Chief Minister Manik Saha, Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Verma, Union Minister Pratima Bhowmik and BJP State President Rajiv Bhattacharjee were present on the occasion.

‘I will try to strengthen the organization of the party’
Speaking to reporters after filing his nomination, Biplab Kumar Dev said, “Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the top leadership of the party put me in charge of BJP for Haryana and nominated me for the by-election for the Rajya Sabha seat from Tripura.” I will try my best to strengthen the organization of the party in both the states.

Urged to fight elections unitedly

The former Tripura Chief Minister urged BJP leaders and workers to fight unitedly for the 2023 assembly elections in the northeastern state. “In the 2018 elections, the BJP won 36 seats in the 60-member assembly, and we must ensure that the party’s strength in the House increases next year,” he said.

Manik saha government appreciation
The BJP leader also lauded the Manik Saha-led state government for its performance in “fulfilling the aspirations of the people”. Deb is contesting from the Rajya Sabha seat that was vacated by Saha, who has been made the chief minister in his place. Former Tripura minister and CPI(M) leader Bhanu Lal Saha has already submitted his nomination for the Rajya Sabha elections.

BJP has majority
Deb’s victory is certain, as the BJP has a majority in the assembly. The saffron party and its ally IPFT have 44 MLAs in the House, while the Left has 15 and the Congress just one.