Oppositions Demand Re-Polling In Tripura


The two opposition parties: the CPI-M and the Congress shared their concerns over the violations of the poll process in some selected polling stations and demanded re-polling in those stations, alleging that the ruling party-backed miscreants succeeded in capturing booths.

In the by-election held in Tripura on Thursday, the final voter turnout stood at 78.58 percent.

As per the Election Commission of India reports, the Surma assembly constituency under the Dhalai district and Jubarajnagar of North Tripura district secured the highest and the second highest with 83.12 percent and 83.11 percent respectively.

While Agartala and Town Bardowali recorded less number of voters compared to other constituencies with 77.35 and 71.13 voting percentages respectively. The 8-Bardowali constituency, where Chief Minister, Manik Saha is contesting, recorded the lowest voter turnout.

Chief Electoral Officer Kiran Gitte said that the entire voting process ended within the stipulated time, and poll officials returned to the strong rooms with the EVMs on time.

The CPI-M, demanded a re-poll in 22 polling stations of three assembly constituencies: 6-Agartala, 8-Bardowali, and 46-Surma, while Congress asked for fresh polls in three polling stations: 6-Agartala constituency, from where the Congress leader Sudip Roy Barman contested.

Speaking on the issue, CPI-M state secretary Jitendra Chowdhury said the BJP’s plan for rigging was destroyed by the people’s impulsive reaction and turned the election into another incompetent exercise. He alleged that some sections of the police personnel played into the hands of the ruling party and paved the way for miscreants to rig elections in some selected booths and demanded fresh polls in those polling stations.

Tripura Pradesh Congress Committee President Birajit Sinha also lashed out at the voters being terrorized by some miscreants to prevent them from approaching the polling station. Sinha demanded re-poll in three polling stations which, according to him, were under the control of “BJP goons”.

Chairman of TIPRA, Bubagra Pradyot Manikya, however, kept his comments reserved until the conclusion of the whole polling process.

“Let the elections get complete, and we shall certainly make our views public”, said Bubagra Pradyot.