Special Polling Stations for IDPs in Imphal West, Manipur


Ahead of the 18th Parliamentary constituency elections in Manipur, the Election Commission of India has taken a significant step by establishing eight Special Polling Stations (SPSs) for Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) residing outside the Relief Camps in Imphal West district.

Phased Elections

Manipur, with its two Lok Sabha seats — Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency reserved for scheduled tribes and Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, will witness polling in two phases on April 19 and 26.

The Inner Manipur LS seat will see six candidates vying for victory, while the Outer seat features four candidates in the electoral fray.

Approximately 61,000 individuals have sought refuge in various locations following the onset of ethnic violence on May 3, 2023, between the Kukis and Meities.

In an official notification issued by Th Kirankumar, the District Election Officer of Imphal West, IDPs residing outside Relief Camps within the jurisdiction of Imphal West District have been encouraged to exercise their voting rights through friends or relatives.

For the Inner Manipur PC, three special polling stations will be established at Lamboikhongangkhong (Lamsang assembly constituency), Khyathong (Thangmeiband assembly), and Wangoi (Wangoi assembly) in Imphal West district.

Five SPSs will cater to the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat, located at Sagoltongba (Patsoi assembly), Lamboikhongngakhong (Lamsang assembly), Khuyathong (Uripok), Laphupat Tera (Mayang Imphal), and Hiyangthang (Naoriya Pakhanglakpa assembly).

The District Election Officer urges IDPs to participate in the electoral process, emphasizing the importance of exercising their franchise. Intending voters are required to submit their duly filled-in ID Forms by April 9, 2024, at the office of the respective Assistant Returning Officers of Imphal West district.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here