Voting For The By-Election In Tripura Begins


Voting began for the by-election to four of the seats- Agartala, Town Bardowali, Surma, and Jubarajnagar in Tripura on Thursday.

By-elections to four assembly seats in Tripura began at 7 AM on Thursday amid tight security arrangements, an election official said. Polling to the Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma, and Jubarajnagar seats is taking place in 221 booths, and it will continue till 5 PM. A total of 25 companies of central forces, apart from Tripura State Rifles (TSR) have been deployed. As many as 1,89,032 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the electoral fate of 25 candidates in the fray.

Tripura CM Manik Saha has cast his vote at a polling station in the Town Bardowali assembly constituency on Thursday morning.

The by-elections in Agartala and Town Bardowali constituencies were necessitated after Sudip Roy Barman and Asish Saha quit as BJP MLAs and joined the Congress in February.

Surma’s seat in the Dhalai district fell vacant after BJP legislator, Asish Das, was disqualified by Speaker Ratan Chakraborty and a by-election to Jubarajnagar was necessitated following the death of sitting CPI(M) MLA Ramendra Chandra Debnath.

The votes will be counted on the 26th of this month.