Big Rallies Were Seen On The Last Day of Filing Nominations For By-Polls


Chief Minister Manik Saha and other prominent leaders of the opposition parties like Sudip Roy Barman and Ashish Kumar Saha filed their nominations on the last day of filing nominations on 6 June, Monday.

The BJP had a rally where former chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb also joined. Both BJP leaders were seen hugging each other during the rally held before the submission of Manik Saha’s papers at the Sadar sub-divisional magistrate’s office in Agartala.

“We are beyond 100 percent confident about winning all four seats in the bye-elections this time. Law and order and development remain our primary poll issues. We hope to receive blessings from people,” he CM Manik Saha confidently after his nomination.

Later, Bilpab Kumar Deb also joined the party candidate’s nomination submission rally and he urged voters to support BJP candidate Malina Debnath in the Jubarajnagar assembly constituency in North Tripura. He claimed that BJP candidates would win with huge margins from all four seats.

Meanwhile, Congress leaders Sudip Roy Barman and Ashish Kumar Saha also took out a massive rally before filing their nominations where they received huge positive responses from the public. People were seen coming and hugging Sudip Roy Barman and also offering water bottles to him.

“I won from this constituency five times. I saw such favorable body language among people, which wasn’t even there in 2018 when I won with the highest margin to date. People are angry with the government. People want a change, now they will take an act of sweet revenge through voting,” said Sudip Roy Barman.

The Congress had nominated three candidates out of four constituencies. On being asked about the Surma constituency, Sudip Roy Barman appealed to anti-BJP voters to vote for the party that has the highest potential to defeat the ruling party there. He also alleged that the ruling party has been creating violence since the announcement of the by-election and expressed his confidence that the Election Commission would be able to conduct the polls in a free-and-fair manner.

According to an official in the CEO’s office, 24 candidates have fielded their nominations in the four constituencies. These include six candidates from the Agartala constituency, seven from Town Bardowali, six from the Surma assembly segment, and five candidates from the Jubarajnagar seat. Withdrawal of candidature is allowed till June 9.