BJP Emerges Victorious in Tripura By-Elections


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has clinched victory in the by-elections for both the Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly seats in Tripura’s Sepahijala district, according to the official announcement by the Election Commission (EC).

In a fiercely contested battle, BJP’s Tafajjal Hossain emerged triumphant in the Boxanagar seat, a constituency boasting around 66 percent minority voters. Hossain secured an impressive lead of 30,237 votes, garnering 34,146 votes in total. Mizan Hossain of the CPI(M), his closest contender, trailed behind with 3,909 votes.

Simultaneously, BJP’s Bindu Debnath claimed victory in the Dhanpur seat, a constituency marked by a significant tribal population. Debnath clinched the seat with a lead of 18,871 votes, securing a total of 30,017 votes. Kaushik Chanda of the CPI(M) trailed with 11,146 votes.

The by-elections, held on September 5, saw a commendable voter turnout of 86.50 percent across the two constituencies. The counting process was conducted under stringent security measures at the Sonamura Girls’ School.

However, the opposition Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI(M) chose to abstain from the vote-counting process, alleging the Election Commission’s failure to address their concerns regarding extensive electoral manipulation.

In the electoral arena of these two constituencies, the primary contest revolved around the incumbent BJP and the CPI(M). The other two opposition parties, Tipra Motha and Congress, refrained from fielding candidates. Sepahijala’s District Magistrate, Vishal Kumar, assured that comprehensive measures were in place to guarantee a smooth and transparent counting process.

The BJP’s victory in both seats cements its position in the Sepahijala district, underscoring its continued popularity among a diverse voter base. The results signal a significant political development in the region, setting the stage for further political dynamics in the foreseeable future.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here