BJP MLA Burba Mohan Tipra Resigns Could Join Tipra Motha


BJP MLA Bulba Mohan Tripura resigned on Friday, sparking speculation that he could move to regional club Thipla Moosa.

Karbook’s Gomati district MLA cited “personal reasons” for his resignation in his resignation letter.

“He at the Kakbook assembly segment BJP MLA met with me and submitted his resignation stating personal reasons. spokesman Ratan Chakraborty told PTI.

The resignation was accepted because he followed the procedures, the spokesman said.

“Tripura is no longer part of the congregation today,” he said.

“I asked him not to resign because his term in the current congregation was about to expire, but he insisted on resigning,” he said.

With IPFT MLA Brishaketu Debbarma previously disqualified, his retirement has dropped the strength of the 60-man strong assembly to 58.

Despite his resignation, the government led by Manik Saha has a clear majority in parliament. BJP has 35 MLAs and ally IPFT has 7 MLAs. The opposition CPI(M) has 15 MLAs and Parliament has 1 MLA.

“Baba Mohan Tripura has resigned from both the MLA and his BJP membership. He does not want to be associated with any national political party. I want to,” said the Chief of Thipura Mosa.

Launched by Debbarma in February 2021, Tipra Motha aims to form a Greater Tipraland for the Tiprasa community. The organization, which is not yet registered with the Electoral Commission, won the Tripura Tribal Area Autonomous Region Council (TTADC) election last April, winning 16 seats in a 28-member body.

She had borrowed a symbol from another local organization, the Tipuraland Provincial Party, to run for election.

TTAADC covers two-thirds of Tripura.