Vijay Hazare Trophy Upset: Tripura Shocks Defending Champions Saurashtra


In a dramatic turn of events, the underdog team Tripura delivered a stunning blow to the defending champions, Saurashtra, in a Vijay Hazare Trophy match held on Monday. Despite the experienced presence of Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara, Saurashtra faced a humbling defeat by 148 runs in the Group A encounter in Bengaluru.

Tripura’s Resilience and Stellar Performances

Led by the proficient wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha, Tripura showcased resilience and stellar performances with the bat. Opting to bat after winning the toss, Tripura’s innings gained momentum with impressive half-centuries from Bikram Kumar Das (59 off 76 balls), Sudip Chatterjee (61 off 93 balls), and Ganesh Satish (71 off 74 balls), setting a challenging target of 258 for 8.

Veteran left-arm pacer Jaydev Unadkat spearheaded Saurashtra’s bowling attack, claiming a five-wicket haul (5 for 35) in an attempt to restrict Tripura’s total.

Saurashtra’s Collapse and Tripura’s Bowling Brilliance

In response, Saurashtra faced a disastrous collapse, managing only 110 runs before being bowled out in 31.4 overs. Part-time bowler Joydeb Deb emerged as the star performer, securing a five-wicket haul (5 for 15) that shattered Saurashtra’s batting lineup.

Early setbacks for Saurashtra at 13 for three, with Harvik Desai, Sheldon Jackson, and Chirag Jani departing quickly, showcased the effectiveness of Tripura’s bowling unit. The blows were inflicted by pacer Mura Singh, adding pressure on the defending champions.

Efforts by Pujara (24) and Vasavada (16) to revive Saurashtra’s innings with a 37-run partnership for the fourth wicket proved insufficient. Once the pivotal partnership was broken, Saurashtra faced a collapse, reaching one of their lowest scores in recent times.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here