Manipur Launches Initiative to Achieve 100% Voter Turnout


Chief Electoral Officer of Manipur, Pradeep Kumar Jha, launched a Signature Campaign on Electoral Participation to encourage all voters, especially the youth, to cast their votes freely and peacefully on Poll Day, without any influence or fear, on Friday.

Promoting Voter Awareness

Various creatives and explainer videos on applications such as C-Vigil, 1950 (toll-free number), Know Your Candidate (KYC), Saksham, and Voter Helpline have been disseminated across multiple media platforms to promote ethical, informed, inclusive, and accessible voting.

Large hoardings and posters providing information on empowering voters have been installed at strategic locations throughout the state. Television and radio talks, along with jingles, have been extensively utilized in preparation for the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2024.

Special awareness programs have been conducted to inform Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) residing in relief camps about their opportunity to cast votes.

The first Randomisation of Electronic Voting Machine (EVM)/Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) was completed on March 23, 2024, in all districts. The second randomization took place on April 5, 2024, in the presence of the General Observer and contesting candidates/their authorized agents.

The commissioning of EVM/VVPATs has commenced in all districts, with 64 engineers from the Electronics Corporation of India Ltd deployed across the state for this purpose.

Polling personnel have undergone one round of training, with the second round underway after the second randomization of polling personnel.

Three General Observers, two Police Observers, and four Expenditure Observers appointed by the Election Commission of India have arrived to oversee the preparation and conduct of Lok Sabha Election 2024.

Manipur, with its two Parliamentary constituencies — Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat reserved for scheduled tribes and Inner Manipur LS — will go to the polls on April 19 and 26. A total of 10 candidates — four in the Outer seat and six in the Inner seat — are vying for election.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here